Holiday Month!

Well I just realized December is a month filled with holidays! The reason I want to make a

Winter Image

Winter Image

special post about this is some individuals who only observe Christmas forget the other holidays in December. Thus, the holidays not as well known are practically ignored. So I wanted to make sure EVERY holiday in the month of December gets mentioned. I’m rather tired hearing some people (mostly on facebook) complaining about the greeting “Happy Holidays” because it upsets their myopic view of December as being only for Christmas. Well I hate to be the one to spoil everything-but I usually am-so I’ll ensure any holiday happening in December gets included here. If you aren’t familiar with a lot of the holidays don’t feel guilty. They certainly aren’t publicized very well. But maybe you’ll be interested and read the information I provide here, along with the links.

I think everyone knows about Christmas and Hanukkah but there are more! Today,

Holiday Mini Schnauzer

Holiday Mini Schnauzer

December 1st, is World AIDS Day. So maybe it’s not a holiday but it’s still an event on the calendar. Then there’s Advent tomorrow-no idea what that it but it begins tomorrow apparently. The 7th is Pearl Harbour Remembrance Day-self explanatory I think. On the 8th is Bodhi Day for Buddhists and although I’m Buddhist I’m not a very good one so don’t ask me what this holiday is about! Hanukkah is the next day on the 9th, the 10th is Human Rights Day, then the 12th is the Feast of Our Lady Guadelupe for Catholics. There’s nothing else I’m aware of until the 22nd when it’s both the Winter Solstice and Yule (Pagan). On the 24th is Christmas Eve and the 25th Christmas. Kwanzaa (African American) is on the 26th, as is Boxing Day in Canada, the U.K. & a few others I’m not sure of. Finally on the 31st, it’s New Year‘s Eve. So you can see December should be renamed “Holiday Month“! Are there any other holidays you know of this month that I left out?

Here’s a link to every holiday in December by About.Com which is very thorough: http://familycrafts.about.com/library/spdays/bldecdayslong.htm

©Sonamsangmu, 2012.

18 thoughts on “Holiday Month!

    • Hehe, no problem. I didn’t even know what Bodhi Day was ’til I Googled it! LOL Some Buddhists celebrate Christmas, others don’t. It depends on your personal beliefs. I celebrate the gift side of it b/c my family does. I’m the only Buddhist and vegetarian in my family, LOL.

      • lol! so it’s whatever feels right to you then :) Well now that you Googled it…what is Bodhi Day? Are you going to celebrate it?
        Would your family celebrate along with your beliefs?

        Wow how’s that for 100 quesions..ha!

      • LOL, I copied Wikipedia’s definition for the celebration:
        Bodhi Day is observed in many mainstream Mahayana traditions including the traditional Zen and Pureland Buddhist schools of China, Korea, Japan, and Vietnam.[7] In Japanese Zen, it is also known as Rohatsu. In Tendai and other Japanese sects, it is called either Shaka-Jōdō-e (釈迦成道会?) or simply Jōdō-e (成道会?).
        Services and traditions vary amongst Buddhist sects, but all such services commemorate the Buddha’s achievement of Nirvana, and what this means for Buddhism today.[8][9] Individuals may choose to commemorate the event through additional meditation,[9] study of the Dharma,[9] chanting of Buddhist texts (sutras), or performing kind acts towards other beings. Some Buddhists celebrate with a traditional meal of tea, cake, and readings.[8]

        My family might celebrate with me if I asked them but they needn’t as I barely do anything anyhow! I’m not very “devout”! LOL

      • I forgot to tell you what Bodhi Day is! it’s the day the Buddha achieved enlightenment and nirvana. There are a few variations on what exactly happened afterward and how but that’s the basic story.

  1. Psst…you forgot pagans. :-) We celebrate the winter solstice around December 21. I celebrate it as Alban Gaeaf, the Welsh midwinter festival, though most pagans celebrate it as Yule. For Gaulish pagans it’s Devoriuros, Hellenic pagans celebrate the Oreibasia, and the Roman pagans have a whole host of December holidays.

    • Thanks! Actually I have winter solstice and Yule on Dec. 22 in my post. But I didn’t know about those other holidays celebrated by various Pagans. I didn’t even know the difference between them. So thanks :) Got to go look up what those different Pagans are now ;)

  2. My boyfriend and I celebrate Chrismakkah. But I believe you have omitted followers of the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster, otherwise known as “Pastafarians.”

    According to Wikipedia, “Around the time of Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa, Pastafarians celebrate a vaguely defined holiday named “Holiday.” Holiday does not take place on “a specific date so much as it is the Holiday season, itself.” Because Pastafarians “reject dogma and formalism”, there are no specific requirements for Holiday. Pastafarians celebrate Holiday in any manner they please.”

    R’amen. :)

  3. Pingback: New Traditions « A Kiss Of Bliss

  4. Pingback: Those who don’t like the word Happy Holidays… | In Kara's World

Please Leave a Reply

